October 09, 2023
2289 0
O
oliverkinne
October 06, 2023
2505 0

Outback Crossing Review

Board Game Reviews
Bugs: Recent Topics Paging, Uploading Images & Preview (11 Dec 2020)

Recent Topics paging, uploading images and preview bugs require a patch which has not yet been released.

× Talk about other nerd culture stuff in here.

No Man's Sky

More
10 Aug 2016 12:17 #231722 by Legomancer
No Man's Sky was created by Legomancer
Did something yesterday I've never done before: took the day off from work so I could play a videogame on the first day of release: No Man's Sky.

I'm playing on free play, and these are my first impressions, cobbled together from Twitter.

I played NMS for about 10 hrs yesterday. I'm enjoying it a bunch. I don't know why.

I haven't read about the game. I don't know much about it other than what I've played. So I can only give a small picture.

What sold me on it were comparisons to Starflight, which I spoke of here: www.daveexmachina.com/wordpress/?p=9416 … Large map, many random worlds, exploration

I am mostly in it for exploration, which I'm enjoying. Always seeing what's on that side of the hill, even if it's the same as this side

I found exploration in Skyrim to be boring, because it was same things over and over. NMS doesn't change that.

And the "sticky" terrain means it's not even tricky to get from point A to point B. You just go there.

Yet I played for ten hours and am looking to play for more.

I'm not sure about trading. It's pretty easy to get money. And you don't really need it for anything. I don't know what you're trading FOR

that may come later. right now I can't afford a big ship but I'd only need one for carrying things to trade, so who cares

Many item upgrades mention combat, but I haven't fought anything yet.

It appears you're part of a gigantic shared universe, but so gigantic you're unlikely to ever notice. That's fine by me.